Am I Ready?

Practice.

Perform.

Get on Stage.

Practice.

Write.

Write.

Write.

 

Hard work and lots of it. That’s what being a comedian means.

Here’s what I know, I know I love being on stage. I know that being a comedian is who I am and what I want to be. I know that it takes a lot of hard work, a lot of practice and more writing than I ever thought I would do.

Don’t get me wrong, I love every part of it, but I am still hesitant. I want to get out and perform more, but honestly, the thought of performing on a stage (aside from with my MoonCat buddies) scares me. I know I need to get out there and practice, but I get in my head too much when it comes to performing anywhere other than where I am familiar. Hell, even getting up on stage at GoodFellas made me nervous as fuck.

So am I ready? Am I ready to drive across the bridge and perform in Baltimore? How about Philly? Am I good enough to stand among other comedians that have been doing this in cities that are far bigger than Milton? I know I won’t ever know until I try, but for some reason I just can’t get the motivation to commit to it.

One of my first blog entries I wrote about a bar in Baltimore called The Sidebar. It was the first place I went and watched an open mic, the very next night I was on stage at GoodFellas. I want to perform there, but again I ask, am I ready?

Then again, who cares if I am ready or not? This is a learning process right? I won’t know until I try. I am not going to get better unless I keep performing. So why not, what is holding me back? How do I get a handle on these nerves? Why do I care so much? I find myself asking all of these questions, but I really don’t know the answer to them. Hell I don’t even know if there are answers.

Twice now I have said I am going to go to Baltimore and sign up at The Sidebar, and each time I chicken out. I find excuses as to why I can’t make the trip. I need motivation. I need to stop worrying so much.

Do me a favor, if you are reading this, let me know if you think I should head on over to Baltimore. Let me know if you think I am ready, if I should just put on my big boy pants and do it. I appreciate any and all advice you guys might have for me. Who knows, maybe your encouragement might be just what I need to get my butt in gear and over the bridge.

Leave a Reply

