The Start of a Dream

Have you ever woken up and thought to yourself what the hell am I doing? You’re stuck in the same routine, wake up, go to a job that isn’t bad but not what you want to spend the rest of your life doing, go home, eat dinner, go to bed and do it all over again the next day. That’s what happened to me. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad life, I just felt like I was missing out, that there was more I could be doing with my life. That’s when it hit me, there was more that I could be doing with my life and the only thing stopping me was myself and I knew that needed to change.

So what did I do? I thought long and hard about what it was that makes me happy, thought about what exactly I want to do and that’s when it hit me. I knew I wanted to make people laugh, to see them smile. I wanted to inspire people, wanted to make a difference in peoples’ lives.

Then what? I started to write everything. I wrote how I felt, things I thought were funny, things that happened that day. Yes you could say I started to keep a journal of sorts, but I like to look at it as something more. It’s inspiration. Those thoughts and experiences are what inspire me, what gets me up on the stage..but that’s me getting ahead of myself. Where was I.. okay, I started to write down EVERYTHING.

Now it was time to look into stand up and open mic nights around me. I couldn’t find anything local at first, but did find some in Baltimore and Philly. Then I came across MoonCat Comedy, “The Longest Running Comedy Open Mic on the DelMarVa Peninsula.” And from there, it was about taking this dream and making it a reality.

 

Leave a Reply

